News

Gamescom Opening Ceremony Will Not Feature Any CG Trailers

0

Gamescom, Europe’s biggest gaming event, kicks off later today, and the opening ceremony will not feature any pre-rendered CGI trailers, according to Geoff Keighley.

Hyping up the livestream on Twitter, Keighley wrote, “I don’t think there’s one CG trailer in there.”

Instead, The Game Awards host has promised a bevy of upcoming games, with “lots of gameplay” being showcased. If true, the presentation will be markedly different from this year’s E3, where the bulk of blockbuster games received CG trailers.

The content of the show has largely managed to avoid the leaks so prevalent around E3 earlier this year, but several developers have been teasing new trailers. Notably, fresh appearances from Death Stranding, Gears 5, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare, and Disintegration are confirmed.

A recent rumour from 4chan (via NeoGAF) has also pegged the reveal of a Metal Gear Solid 5: Demon Edition, promising a revision of The Phantom Pain and Ground Zeroes including entirely new content. However, given the source, that rumour should be treated extremely carefully.

The official livestream begins today at 8pm CEST. Equivalent times in other parts of the world are 7pm BST, 2pm EDT, 11am PDT, and 4am Tuesday AEST.

Nintendo, Inside Xbox, and Google will all have their own livestreams prior to the main presentation, at 3pm CEST, 5pm CEST, and 7pm CEST, respectively.

For all the latest single-player gaming coming out of Gamescom, be sure to bookmark OnlySP and follow us on FacebookTwitter, and YouTube. You can also join the discussion in our community Discord server.

Damien Lawardorn
Damien Lawardorn is an aspiring novelist, journalist, and essayist. His goal in writing is to inspire readers to engage and think, rather than simply consume and enjoy. With broad interests ranging from literature and video games to fringe science and social movements, his work tends to touch on the unexpected. Damien is the former Editor-in-Chief of OnlySP. More of his work can be found at https://open.abc.net.au/people/21767

Borderlands 3 Will Tie Off Loose Threads, But Not End the Series

Previous article

How Hades Has Managed to Shine as an Epic Exclusive in Early Access — An Interview With Supergiant’s Greg Kasavin

Next article

You may also like