Connect with us


Here are the First Details on Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order’s ‘Somewhat Dark’ Story



Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order

Respawn Entertainment’s stream reveal for Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order was short, sweet, and packed with story details.

Respawn head Vince Zampella opened up the event with great news for single-player fans: “This is a story game. No multiplayer, no micro-transactions, this is about being a Jedi.”

Shortly after the thunderous applause, game director, Stig Asmussen, explained that the game’s team was mostly built from scratch. He continues on to say that Fallen Order‘s development was “slow and steady,” and managed to build a team from veteran talent from other titles such as Uncharted, God of War, Batman, BioShock, Metal Gear Solid, Titanfall, and Call of Duty.

Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order

Players are likely aware of that the game takes place in Star Wars canon, though this detail was expanded on during the stream.

Respawn Producer Kasumi Shishido says Respawn is “introducing a lot of new planets and new characters.” No word has been provided on the specific moment the game will begin but Respawn has revealed that the story starts after the events of Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge of the Sith and sees players taking on the role of a Padawan that survived the elimination of the Jedi Order.

The game’s Xbox store page also gives a brief breakdown on some of the game’s story details.

“As a former Padawan on the run from the Empire, you must complete your training before Imperial Inquisitors discover your plan to revive the Jedi Order. Aided by a former Jedi Knight, a cantankerous pilot, and a fearless droid, you must escape the evil machinations of the Empire in a story-driven adventure. Explore and overcome a wide range of challenges focused on combat, exploration, and puzzle-solving.”

The page goes on to list some settings, such as “Ancient forests, windswept rock faces, and haunted jungles.” Further adding to the credibility of last week’s leak is the description of a story that is linear, but not completely straightforward, as players will be given to option to decide the order of which planets to visit.

Specifically, the narrative will follow lead character Cal Kestis and his team as they travel through galaxy during the universe’s period known as The Dark Times, when the villainous Empire was at the height of its power. Jedi are seen as traitors, so Kestis must live in hiding from an Empire that seeks to destroy the remains of the ancient order.

Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order

Cameron Monaghan, a Gotham actor who will take the role of Kestis, gave some of his thoughts on the game’s story and mentioned that the narrative will be “somewhat dark.”

“We wanted to make sure that we honored and respected the story. We’re just sort of scratching the surface with what you’re seeing [on stream]. For me, Star Wars is about finding hope, connection, and light within the darkness, and it is a somewhat dark story.”

Elements from nearly every entry in the Star Wars franchise will be a part of this new take on the universe, even Star Wars: Rebels and Star Wars: The Clone Wars.

A number of Star Wars veterans are helping to bring the project to life. Clone Wars and Rebels writer Matt Michnovetz and Star Wars sound designer Bill Burt have been brought on to help make the game feel authentic to the already well-fleshed-out universe.

Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order story trailer gave fans a good look at the world Respawn has created.

Kestis says the three rules of survival are “don’t stand out, accept the past, and trust no one.”

Check out the stream down below.

So much more is sure to be revealed before Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order launches on November 15, so be sure to keep checking in with OnlySP on FacebookTwitter, and YouTube. You can also join the discussion in our community Discord server.

Continue Reading


Layers of Fear 2 Launching Late Next Month



Layers of Fear 2

Layers of Fear 2 has been talked about for a while now and is finally coming late next month.

Announced today by publisher Gun Media, the sequel to the psychological romp through artistic ego Layers of Fear is set to launch May 28 for PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One.

Gameplay-wise, the sequel looks to cover similar ground as its predecessor. As a first-person psychological horror with “an emphasis on exploration and story,” players meander through heavily-scripted set-pieces while solving puzzles and being scared a whole lot.

Layers of Fear 2, though, will be swapping the paintbrush for the dizzying heights of Hollywood. According to the game’s Steam synopsis, players “control a Hollywood actor who heeds the call of an enigmatic director to take on the lead role in a film shot aboard an ocean liner.”

Stifled by their own acting ambitions, the protagonist finds themselves alone and marooned on an increasingly nightmarish boat. The game’s unnamed protagonist must navigate their own past and the challenges the director sets them to unlock the secret to not just the film they are starring in, but their own motivations.

The original Layers of Fear was a captivating take on modern, story-driven horror, so the sequel’s inventive premise and greater scope are welcomed. While the sequel is embarking to a radically different setting, the title looks likely to recapture the original’s claustrophobic, atmospheric level design.

For more on Layers of Fear 2 and the ever-changing world of single-player gaming, be sure to follow us on FacebookTwitter, and YouTube.

Continue Reading