The first abilities that players will have access to in Vampire: The Masquerade – Bloodlines 2 have been unveiled.

Bloodlines 2‘s marketing producer, Anders Carlsson, and senior product manager, Florian Schwarzer, discussed the game’s first clan, along with its associated abilities and features in a recent Twitch stream (embedded below).

At launch, Vampire: The Masquerade – Bloodlines 2 will have five clans available to join, but the player will initially start as a Thin Blood. Often viewed with disdain, Thin Bloods are the lowest tier of the kindred hierarchy. Paradox Interactive made the fixed clan decision believing that beginning at the bottom would make for a more interesting journey for the player.

The option to join one of the other clans will come later in the protagonist’s adventure. Schwarzer said that players will have a chance to understand the nuances of the lore before making their choice on a new clan.

The abilities tied to the Thin Blood clan were also revealed. Thin Bloods have three disciplines for the player to choose from.

Mentalism is the first major ability, enabling players to manipulate objects and move them. Players can pull weapons from an enemy’s hands and eventually levitate enemies off the ground. This skill set was described by Schwarzer as the most offensive of the three disciplines.

Nebulation is the second, allowing players to summon a shroud of mist. Nebulation allows for the player to turn into a mist cloud, choke enemies out with fog, and summon fog banks to incapacitate people. This skill is designed for a stealthier approach to situations, giving sneaking buffs and enabling players to shapeshift through vents.

Chiropterans is the final discipline available for Thin Bloods, and it gives players control over bats. With this power, players can gain verticality over their enemies with a gliding ability. The player can summon swarms of bats to use both offensively and defensively. The ability is described as a middle ground discipline, giving the player the ability to traverse around the world in ways that the other disciplines cannot.

Although these abilities will be the first given to the player, they will not be the last. The disciplines gained from the player’s choice of clan will be added on top, allowing various combinations to be made.

Some other features were drip-fed in, including confirmation that none of the game will take place during the day. Although navigating daylight would create an interesting mechanic for players, its limitations proved too frustrating for the developers to integrate.

Hardsuit Labs will be discussing more clans and mechanics each week on Thursday over on its Twitch page. Vampire: The Masquerade – Bloodlines 2 is set to release in 2020.

For all the latest on Bloodlines 2 and much more from the world of single-player gaming, keep checking in with OnlySP on FacebookTwitterYouTube, and join the discussion in our community Discord server.

Wreckfest Update Includes Improved Collisions, Developer Hoping to “Improve Many Aspects of the Game”

Previous article

New Stardew Valley ‘Expanded’ Mod Adds Hours of Fresh Gameplay for PC

Next article


  1. Any word on a console release for this?

    1. Yes! It’s already been confirmed to launch on consoles alongside PC in Q1 next year, with Xbox and PS4 being listed on the official website.

Comments are closed.

You may also like